I Must Begin Somewhere…

I have been thinking a lot these past few days about how I would start this blog.  It seems like I created it with these incredible, massive plans, and they somehow slipped away!  After pondering for a while, I just decided to sit in front of the computer and simply type.  I suppose this can be called Day One….

As you may or may not be aware, I am a firefighter.  I love what I do dearly and I wouldn’t give it up for the world!  With that being said, it is pretty hard work for the most part.  My pager can go off at any time, day or night and I could be gone for unknown periods of time.

During this unknown amount of leave I take from my comfortable intelli-gel bed, I hike.  I sleep, I hike.  I eat, I hike.  I wield tools, I dig.  It was very hard to get used to the rough terrain, the intense weight on my back and waist, and the heat.  But it is now my passion.

I am going to publicly announce my goal here today!  I have recently gained some extra pounds, of which I want no part of anymore.  So, my goal weight is 120.  I haven’t weighed myself today, but I assume I’m around 145, which is well above my healthy weight as I am only 5′ 2″.  I have chosen the goal weight of 120 pounds for one reason, and one reason alone.  My own perception of my body is skewed and fluctuates between love and hate.  I’m used to that, as I have struggled with my weight and eating habits my whole life.  This is not the reason I’m doing it people!  To want to be thin isn’t enough, at least not for me.

My passion and love for helping others has led me on this path of wildland firefighting (you will hear a lot about this as we take our journey together).  I want to be what’s called a “smoke jumper” within the next year, ideally before the next wildland season!  If you don’t know what that is, google it and find out.  So, this is the beginning of this particular story.  I hope you come back often and share with me your experiences as well!

Crystal Pearce

P.S.  Where is your favorite place to take a hike?  Do you have any pictures to share?

1 comment

Leave a Reply

